Steering Committee

For the efforts of the Community of Care to be effective, it is imperative to find passionate people to help champion this goal.

A Steering Committee of invested stakeholders will provide the leadership for Healthy Communities that Work to become a reality in South Dakota. 

The Steering Committee roster includes:

  • Phyllis Arends, Executive Director, Sioux Falls National Alliance on Mental Illness
  • Scott Duke, President and CEO, SD Association of Health Care Organizations
  • Dakota Crocker, Self Advocate
  • Kathy Crocker, Parent Leader
  • Terry Dosch, Executive Director, SD Council of Mental Health Centers / SD Council of Substance Abuse Centers
  • Deb Fischer-Clemens, Senior Vice President Public Policy, Avera
  • Travis Hallock, Assistant Director, Department of Social Services - Community Behavioral Health
  • Connie Halverson, VP Public Benefit, Delta Dental
  • Liz Heidelberger, Juvenile Detention Alternatives Initiative (JDAI) Statewide Coordinator, Unified Judicial System
  • Barb Hemmelman, CYSHCN Director (Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs), Department of Health
  • John Johnson, Associate Director of Research, Center for Disabilities
  • Ann Larsen, Division Director, Department of Education – Division of Educational Services and Supports
  • Darryl Millner, Assistant Director, Department of Human Services – Division of Developmental Disabilities
  • Bill Molseed, Workforce Training Director, Department of Labor and Regulation
  • Linda Ross, Executive Director, Community Health Association of the Dakotas (CHAD)
  • Tony Tiefenthaler, Health Strategy Officer, Sanford
  • Shanon Waldner, Director of Women and Children's Services, Regional Health